About Us
Board of Directors
Associate Members
Contact Us
Principles of Apnea
Apnea Safety
Getting Started
Newsletter & Articles
Public Outreach
Members Only
For the Diving Professional
Current News
Apnea in the News
Media Resources
Media Releases
References and Resources
May 7, 2011


Two New United States Women’s Freediving Records.


West Bay, Grand Cayman.  United States Apnea Association (USAA) is pleased to announce that Erin Magee of Fort Lauderdale, FL and Ashley Chapman of Wilmington, NC set two new United States Women’s Freediving National Records during the first day of the Deja Blue Deux Freediving Competition.  Erin swam using her monofin and holding her breath to a depth of 72 meters (236 feet) in the freediving discipline known as Constant Weight (CWT).  Ashley swam without the aid of a fin using breaststroke and holding her breath to a depth of 50 meters (164 feet) in the freediving discipline known as Constant Weight No Fins (CNF).

Ashley has broken Annabel Bresino’s National Record of 48 meters (157 feet) that was set in July of 2009 in Kona, HI.  Ashley’s dive took two minutes.  Erin has broken her own National Record that she set at last year’s event.  Erin’s dive took two minutes and eighteen seconds.

Erin’s performance marks her second National Record in as many years.  She has six more days of competition and plans to go for more.  Erin said, “I am so happy to be off to such a great start.  If all goes well, I feel like I have more to go for.  It really is a dream come true.“  Erin teaches freediving for a living and has been training for several years in pursuit of her record level dream.

Ashley’s performance marks her first National Record.  Ashley was a member of the US Women’s Freediving in 2008.  Ashley said, “I am so happy that I was able to hit my first goal of the competition.  I felt so good I plan on going for more.  I am excited to see just how far I can go.”

The Performance Freediving Invitational Competition, Deja Blue Deux, is an annual event that has taken place in Grand Cayman since 2006.  For more information checkout

Grand Cayman is a diving mecca in the center of the Caribbean, better known as a scuba diving destination; it has recently seen an influx of freediving activity, competitions, and courses.  Cayman’s clear, blue, and warm waters make it ideal for all water activities.  The submerged walls with their sheer drop offs make it ideal for deep freediving. 

Constant Weight (CWT) challenges the athlete to swim to depth and back with the use of fins or a mono fin under their own power while holding their breath.  The athlete is not allowed to contact the competition line other than to recover their tag at depth while turning.  Upon reaching the surface the athlete must perform a surface protocol within fifteen seconds of their return to the surface.

Constant Weight No Fins (CNF) tests the freediver’s ability to swim to depth and return without the use of fins while holding their breath.  CNF is one of the most difficult disciplines in freediving.  Athletes use a modified breaststroke technique to propel themselves to depth and back. 

The USAA is a nonprofit association founded on the democratic representation of freediving within the United States and internationally.  Founded in 2003, the USAA consists of an active membership dedicated to furthering freediving in the United States and abroad. For more information about the USAA, the U.S. National Freediving Team, and membership please visit

The International Association for the Development of Freediving, AIDA, is the international sanctioning body for freediving, individual and team competition, and freediving world record attempts.  For more information about AIDA please visit



Contact Information:

Grant W. Graves, President
United States Apnea Association, USAA

3642 Seahorn Dr.
Malibu, CA 90265
Phone: 310-560-6104

[ TOP ]

United States Team
Member Login
Donate to United States Apnea Association
Shop the USFD Store
USFD Community
United States Apnea Association (USAA) © 2005 • All rights are reserved.
Pictures provided by Rebecca Garrett, Deron Verbeck, Tec Clark and Jon Zeaman.